Organized Notes

When researching something on the net, my notes become a long text file lacking any organization.  This isn’t a problem if I’m looking for a place to eat later that day but presents difficulties when the subject is larger or I’m not going to use the info for days or weeks.  In those cases, I end up having to reread entire files looking for a specific note that I thought I saved.

A TiddlyWiki looks like it will solve my problem.  TiddlyWiki is “a single html file which has all the characteristics of a wiki – including all of the content, the functionality (including editing, saving, tagging and searching) and the style sheet. Because it’s a single file, it’s very portable – you can email it, put it on a web server or share it via a USB stick.”

It’s free and the basics can be learned in minutes.  I’ve already started converting converting my free form text databases into tiddlywikis.  The only drawback I can see is that my inner Geek (OK, my outer Geek also) might not be content with merely organizing content.  It uses CSS so one can get as fancy with the formatting as one wants.

Leave a Reply

