On Culture

How does one think about a culture other than one’s own?  No, that’s not right: how do I think about culture?  Having nerd brain means I don’t think about my own culture all that much, and much of what I know is rudimentary.  And it’s not how I think about culture that matters eventually, it’s how I adapt to it.  That will be a longer process than the current cycle of observe – understand – contemplate.

 

I’ve read very little cultural anthropology or cultural anything for that matter.  I understand the concepts of Ugly American, ‘When in Rome, do as the Romans do.’ and that cultural differences are just that – differences.  So how do those principles survive actual contact with the culture?  And how does one write about it without making an ass of one’s self because of ignorance or blind spots?  Throw in my belief that Political Correctness is to be avoided at most times and, well, I’m hesitant to write about my learning about the culture.

 

My favorite definition of Political Correctness:  [it] is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional,illogical, liberal minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.”

Leave a Reply

