Stuff

The power of advertising.

For the last 20 years I’ve rarely eaten fast food, usually only doing so while on a road trip.  My last choice of fast food brand is McDonalds.  I don’t think I’ve been inside one since the mid 90s.

Sometimes I need a snack to hold me for 3-4 hours and I don’t want MSG or something with questionable sanitary standards so I have settled on a McD hamburger as the best choice.  I was standing in line the other day, killing time by reading the rest of the menu.  I wondered what the difference was between a quarter pounder and a big mac and the big mac ingredient list from that damn jingle popped into my head.

Adapting to the heat.

I’m now live a 5 minute walk from the edge of an office park.  Finally I have someplace safe to walk for exercise.  There are actual sidewalks, wide ones, not strewn with hazards or vendors and little traffic early in the morning so I won’t be sucking in clouds exhaust fumes.  Sure I walk a lot here, but not long or fast enough to get my heart rate up.  Twenty five minutes in the heat and humidity here and I’d finished a 500ml water bottle but was none the worse for wear.

Neighborhood change

I’m on my fourth day in the new area and haven’t seen a beggar yet.  I have seen a lot of young Koreans carrying what look like book bags.  I don’t know if there is an English as a Second Language (ESL) school nearby, or if they’re attending the University up the street.  Many Koreans come to the Philippines to study ESL because it’s cheaper than doing so at home.

Sore Throat

I have a kitchen now, so I’m paying more attention in supermarkets.  One of the markets has sore throat lozenges taking up a substantial portion of the impulse buy racks at the checkout counters.  I’ve been told that upper respiratory problems are rampant this time of year and have heard all the coughing, but I’m glad to know that I’m not alone in having persistent sore throats. At least my doctor figured out how to stop my major sore throats and left me with very minor ones.

Leave a Reply

