Unexpected Risk In Low Occupancy Hotel

I’m in Hua Hin, Thailand’s oldest beach resort. It’s population swells with Bangkok residents on the weekends. Not many people here mid week during the rainy season.

There have been 1 to 3 rooms occupied out of the eleven total in my hotel over the 3 nights I’ve been here. Last night I returned late, two hours later than either of the other two nights. When I entered the property I passed one of the kitchen employees having a conversation with someone I’d never seen.

The door into reception was locked so I had no access to my room key. I returned to the front of the house, hoping the kitchen worker was still there. I saw the horrified light go on in her face. She knew she’d locked up before everyone was in for the night. My guess is that she still there because she was on her way home when she ran into somebody she wanted to talk to.

From now on I will be carrying my key when I got out at night.

Leave a Reply

