Ants and the Cutting Board

I thought I was getting good at keeping the kitchen clean so that the ants would not return. The cutting board is a problem. Cleaning with dish soap using the scrubbing side of a sponge is not enough. They still mill around trying to find what they smell. I’ve tried pouring boiling water over the board after it’s been washed. That works, but is a pain in the butt. One evening I forgot and found this in the morning.

Ants on a Cutting Board

My solution is to treat the cutting board the same way I do fresh bread: hang it from the clothes line in my dirty kitchen.

Ant-proof cutting board

I hope they don’t learn how to walk a tightrope.

Leave a Reply

