Followup – Thai Long Stay Visa

The Thai consulate in Cebu does not issue the type of visa I want. The ‘consulate’ is a crap covered desk inside a shipping line company. The man who helped me had been taping up a box when I walked in. That was not confidence inspriing. Nor was his information.

He told me that I could apply for that visa once inside Thailand. Every Thai government web site and all the forums where Thai visas are discussed state that this is impossible. Was he just another shit for brains Filipino employee? Or was he engaged in the all too familiar sport of fucking with foreigners? Doesn’t matter.

He said the embassy does issue 60 day tourist visas. Given the Manila embassy’s reputation for turning this process into a nightmare and the misinformation I received in the consulate, I think I’d be a fool to try.

Leave a Reply

