How Not to Travel

In the land of iffy ATMs (brownouts, out of cash, no net connection, and just because its the Phils) I always take short trips with enough cash to make it back home plus a safety margin. This time I barely had enough. I usually bring two ATM cards, one for each bank account. This time I screwed up and brought one, thinking I had two. Do you see where this is headed?

I planned on two nights away. Knew after the first that I had spent my safety margin. ATM card didn’t work the next day. Ate a cheap dinner to give me a little safety margin. I planned on visiting the ATM the next morning.

Got the runs that night. Sure didn’t want to travel the next morning, especially because the buses do not have CRs (bathrooms). Shoot I didn’t want to get out of bed. Dragged my ass to the pharmacy to get some rehydration salts, water, juice and crackers. Both ATMs I passed didn’t work for my card.

I carry reserve cash in P 1000 notes (about $19) stashed in a place that is not easy to get to and I have to reconstruct it afterwords. I chose this location because I wanted an emergency reserve, not just another source of cash. I wanted it to be such a pain to  access that I’d learn the lesson from the sequence of events that led to me using it. I hope I learned it.

3 Responses to How Not to Travel

  1. Ellen says:

    This post displayed one or two paragraphs followed by a link to the remainder that didn’t work very nicely. I prefer seeing the full text of each post.

  2. fourletternerd says:

    Your wish is my command, oh faithful reader (of which I have few).

  3. Ellen says:

    I guess I am a “faithful reader”. I’m finding your adventure interesting on many levels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

