It Was Hot Today

How hot? Hot enough that:

  • The Thai people I encountered in non Air Con settings all remarked about how hot it was.
  • When waiting for a traffic light my palms became too wet to get a safe grip on the handlebars or the brake levers (I wiped them on my shorts when the light turned green)
  • While sitting in the shade with a breeze my sweat was pooling and dripping all over ma body. On normal summer days that only happens when I’ve been walking a while.
  • I had a late breakfast which included a 500 ml (17 oz) water bottle. Used the john before leaving then went to an internet cafe. I know how fast 500 ml goes through me so I selected a cafe with a toilet. Got up to leave after an hour and realized I had barely detectable bladder bulge, so I headed to the nearest 7/11 for something to drink.

The weather prediction was for 36 C (98.6 F) and 80% humidity. According to a heat index chart I found on the net, that combo produces an apparent temperature of 57 C (Yikes! F) and heat stroke should happen. I deleted the chart.

The tourist season in this part of the world is the not so hot months. The foreigners here now either have no problem with the heat or are fools. I avoid the sun during the hottest part of the day, hydrate early and often, swig Gatorade whenever I walk into the apartment and make sure I get enough salt. It’s no big deal.

3 Responses to It Was Hot Today

  1. Ellen says:

    My friends who live in Phnom Penh said it was 104 there yesterday and “the house feels like you have to cut through thick clouds of heat when you walk”. They spent the day in one room with the A/C on. (Not sure if they have central HVAC, will ask when I reply.)

    • fourletternerd says:

      I haven’t experienced 104 yet. So far it feels like (take your pick): 1) My personal sauna bath, 2) Like I’m Joe Btfsplk, but the everpresent cloud is inside my clothes, 3) That I showered, shook off most of the water and then got dressed.

Leave a Reply

