Treatment of Street Dogs

I happened across an aspect of dogs’ lives that I wish I hadn’t. The first time I wrote about how Thais treat dogs I was angry. This time there is only sadness. What in the states is called animal cruelty bothers a lot of people so I’ve put the story on a separate page. Read below for good news about treatment of dogs.

Last week I met an American family who were in Hua Hin to visit the husband’s sister. She’d found a purpose in caring for dogs. Thai people abandon dogs at temples but the monks can care for only so many. She rescues the pregnant ones.

The puppies are fed well, given all the shots one would give a pup in America, spayed or neutered and taken to a Bangkok market where Thais with money shop. The puppies are offered for free and she’s never had to bring one back to HH. I hope that’s because the combo of happy, healthy puppies with all their medical expenses already covered is appealing and not because none of the shoppers have ever seen puppies so healthy.

Leave a Reply

