About the New Blog Banner Photo

A) I like the picture.

B) The lotus flower is a divine symbol in various Asian cultures. For example, its unfolding petals suggest the expansion of the soul. The growth of its pure beauty from the mud of its origin holds a benign spiritual promise. One of my goals for retiring outside my home culture was for the personal growth opportunity.

C) In Greek mythology the Lotus-eaters were a people who lived on an island dominated by lotus plants. The lotus fruits and flowers were the primary food of the island and were narcotic causing the people to sleep in peaceful apathy.

In the last four hours I’ve accomplished 30 minutes of trip planning. That’s sad because I told myself I’d spend the full four hours on it. Seemed like an appropriate image because the only way I’m going to experience any of the ‘B’ above is to overcome the ‘C’.

Leave a Reply

