Too Close for Comfort: Avoided a Costly Mistake

Didn’t set any calendar reminders, didn’t put a post-it on my passport, didn’t do any of the easy things to remind me that my permission to stay in Thailand expires if I leave the country without a re-entry permit. They’re available only at one’s local immigration office or at the international airport in Bangkok. I’m taking a train south so the last chance option at the airport doesn’t apply.

Trip to Malaysia and Singapore starts in 2 weeks. Feel like an idiot to have remembered this close to departure. But it sure beats remembering it after I’d left the country.

Leave a Reply

