Bus from Taiping to Tanah Rata

Started easy enough with a 800 yard walk to the city bus station for the shuttle to the long distance station. Arrived there with time to spare to catch the 9am bus to Ipoh. That bus arrived early but left 15 minutes late. I was thinking I was most probably screwed.

Yep, arrived in Ipoh 10 min after the 11am bus to Tanah Rata (TR) left. Next one is at 3:30pm. Killed one hour in a restaurant across the street, the next 3.5 reading until my butt hurt too much then standing til my legs hurt to much. The bus station had a distinct and unpleasant odor but I stopped noticing it after the first hour. I’m not complaining, at least not too much. Knew I’d be off the tourist trail on this hop, infrequent buses are a feature, not a problem.

Settled into a nice wide (3 across) seat on the TR bus and knew there would be sleep. Still, arrived in TR too tired to walk the 600 yards to my guest house so took a taxi, first one on this trip.

3 Responses to Bus from Taiping to Tanah Rata

  1. adrian says:

    Nah Bill … way too far from civilization for my tastes!

    Cheers
    Adrian

    • Four Letter Nerd says:

      Hey Adrian, I didn’t get this far off the usual path when I was young, so I’m trying it now before I’m too old. Besides, I’m identifying places you wouldn’t want to live.

  2. adrian says:

    “I’m identifying places you wouldn’t want to live.” Well thanks for that sport, will save me a lot of trouble!

    XX

Leave a Reply

