Bangkok: Released Too Early

To the tune of “One Night in Bangkok”

One bump in Bangkok makes a weak man stumble
The ride is smooth but his hands are free
You’ll see grab bars among the crowded jumble
If you’re lucky one is close to thee.





In my fatigue I thought the train had stopped, so I let go of the hand rail and turned toward the door. The final train movement tipped me oh so slowly off balance like a tree starting to fall. Survival instinct roused me from the brain fog. Head pivoted, eyes locked on the grab rail, a hand snaked out to a solid grab, barely avoiding a literal ‘shop til you drop’. I say ‘a hand’ instead of ‘my hand’ because it all happened so fast it seemed like I was just a spectator.

Leave a Reply

