Midnight Sky Lanterns

The fireworks woke me up. Only plans I had for New Years Eve involved a tripod, camera and a 10 minute walk but it was too late for that. Went on to the balcony to see what I was missing. Wasn’t surprised to see several major ‘fly high in the sky and go BOOM’ fireworks displays. Brain was still a little fuzzy so it took me a minute to figure out what was going on. At first I thought they were fireworks I’d never seen before because after the bright sparkling streaks escaped the explosion and faded there was a background of small sparkles hanging in the sky that didn’t fade.

D’oh! There were floating lanterns. The Thais consider it good luck to release a sky lantern, symbolic of problems and worries floating away

It’s pretty amazing to see hundreds of these released at the same time when there’s little or no wind, or so I’m told. I’ve only seen small scale releases. Plenty of images of such mass releases here on Google images. Don’t trust that link? Go to http://images.google.com/ and search these terms: Thailand sky lantern

But tonight the lanterns were being released all over the city. And they were not just hanging there. The wind was pushing them north much faster than they were ascending. Couldn’t get any usable photos of the ones streaming closely past my building so I had to settle for some distant shots. Despite processing to bring out the points of light this photo shows only about 1/3 of the lanterns visible to the naked eye.


Leave a Reply

