Is There a 12-Step Group for Browser Bookmark Packrats?

The first step is admitting one is powerless over the problem.

I rarely clean out my bookmarks. It’s easier to dump all the ones I might need later into a folder named ‘Less Used’. For about 2 years Chromium was my browser on Linux Mint 9. After using Mint 14 it’s obvious Firefox is the better browser so I transferred bookmarks.

The bookmark import seems to take way too much time so I went on an archeological expedition, descending to the oldest folder. At least the path was easy to follow:
(top level)
– Little Used
– – Old Netscape Bookmarks
– – – Rarely Used
– – – – Imported IE Favorites
– – – – – Little Used
– – – – – – Travel

Most of the 10 sites in the Travel folder were 404, for sale or last updated in ‘0-something’.  Also found was an expat site that I’m now embarrassed I ever book marked, an addictive shockwave game named Blix and the only geocities.com site left in the huge bookmark file.

Maybe I’ll clean out some more folders.

2 Responses to Is There a 12-Step Group for Browser Bookmark Packrats?

  1. expatseek says:

    What was the expat site you had bookmarked you’re embarrassed about? We’d love to know, out of curiosity!

Leave a Reply

