Why Treviso, Italy?

One eye-catching tidbit all but sealed the deal in selecting Treviso, Italy as my pre-Venice destination – Tiramisu was invented there. Of course there are other reasons including an old city core with 4km long walls still standing and rivers flowing through narrow canals.

The initial plan was one night near Venice, 3 nights in Venice then leave Italy. That seemed less than mimimalist, so I added another pre-Venice day, which means 2 nights in Treviso. I could spend it in Venice, Treviso, Padua or whatever. After Venice? Slovenia calls but if the cost per day has been less than eye-popping, more time in Italy calls louder.



I don’t remember when I first learned about Tiramisu, but it was before “Sleepless in Seattle”

Sam (played by Tom Hanks) is asking his friend Jay (played by Rob Reiner) for advice on reentering the dating scene after many years:

Jay: And, of course, there is now tiramisu …

Sam: What is tiramisu?

Jay: You’ll find out.

Sam: Well, what is it?

Jay: You’ll see!

Sam: You better tell me. Some woman is gonna want me to do it to her and I’m not gonna know what it is.

Leave a Reply

