Chiang Mai – Browsing Used Book Stores

Sometimes I miss the used book stores from the analog era. Large, dusty, dimly lit places on once prosperous retail streets, always owned and operated by the same late middle aged man with the same beard and the same desk supporting a somewhat organized mountain of paper. I enjoyed the hunt for interesting non-fiction and hardbacks by my favorite fiction authors. Best of all was finding something I was specifically looking for but had little hope of finding.

Chiang Mai has 4 used book stores near Thapae Gate. On this trip I entered the first bookstore with two targets: a specific title and anything I hadn’t read yet by a particular author. The recent movie adaptation made my first target, ‘The Great Gatsby’, easier to find than expected. The second was a longshot. Two bookstores later it was a delight to find 2 of his books. I purchased one and left the other for the next Trevanian fan. More about him in the next post because I need to get back to my reading.

Leave a Reply

