No, I Don’t Act My Age

Zeniarai Benzaiten Ugafuku Shrine is the full name of the shrine in Kamakura, Japan. It’s a shrine to the Goddess of Money Washing. There is a spring inside a cave where, legend has it, if one washes money in the water, it will multiply. Long handled bamboo baskets are provided. If it works, I already have a theme song to sing while returning to the shrine. But I kid. I’d never use it out of respect to the Goddess. Besides, I don’t know where I’d find the requisite backup chanters.

To the tune of ‘Hooked on a Feeling’, as covered by Blue Swede:

Uuga-Fuku Uuga-Uuga
Uuga-Fuku Uuga-Uuga
Uuga-Fuku Uuga-Uuga
Uuga-Fuku Uuga-Uuga

I can’t stop this washing
Cash in front of me
¥, you just don’t realize
What you do to me

When I hold you
In my fist so tight
I wanna buy
Everything in sight

I’m hooked on a feeling
I’m high on believing
etc. etc … (I ran of ideas)

If you’re curious, ¥ is the symbol for the Japanese Yen, and
this is Blue Swede:

Leave a Reply

