I Have a Suspicious Name

Since not long after 9/11 I’ve had to use my legal name with financial institutions. It was a small problem at first when a clerk or phone representative used my first name, one I had never used, to get my attention. I was slow to respond because I was listening for my name, not that other name.

Today another part of my legal name, one I also never used, caused a problem. My name has a suffix. It’s on my credit card. The card used for a hotel reservation. The hotel guy didn’t think it was a real name, so he didn’t attempt the transaction.

Turns out they wanted me to call to confirm they were dealing with a real person because the only names with suffixes they’d heard of were English kings and the like. It probably didn’t help reduce suspicion that my first name and middle name have been used more than once by English kings.

Leave a Reply

