Mandatory SIM Card Registration

The current government decreed all prepaid SIM cards must be registered, giving us several months to comply. During the first month I went to my service provider’s (DTAC) store with phone and passport, was out in 10 minutes.

Two days ago, DTAC sent a reminder message, the one on the bottom:

As requested, I dialed the number to check my status. DTAC responded:

DTAC knows from my account settings I’m an English speaker. The foreigner’s catch-all phrase explaining why they replied in a language I don’t speak or read is ‘This is Thailand’. But that doesn’t explain anything, you might be thinking. Wrong, Tom Kha Gai breath. It explains everything.

No idea if I’m legal. I suppose I should check.

Leave a Reply

