My Next Country, Round 2

I’ve realized I’m giving higher priority to identifying Spanish speaking countries in which to live not just because I know some Spanish, but because of my investment in learning Spanish. The time and effort it took is what economists call a ‘sunk cost’. To now learn a different language or to stick with English only would throw that all away.

We humans aren’t good at taking a loss at something we thought would pay off, hence the idiom ‘to throw good money after bad’. The smart move is knowing when to cut one’s losses. The smart move for me is to identify the countries that appear to meet my criteria the most without giving excess weight to Spanish speaking ones.

If I had to bet, next spring I’ll visit Portugal.

Leave a Reply

