O Lucky Man!

So far, it had a been a fun day in Melbourne. I went to Luna Park, an amusement park that opened in 1912, for a photo shoot. As expected, on the way there and back I followed distractions, which had me heading back to the hotel later than expected. Not a problem.

Then I kept eating up time. When changing trams, I got on the correct route going the wrong way. Realized that after one stop but waiting for the right tram took a while. While waiting I saw a big banner advertising a stage play touring company now in Melbourne. Googled for tickets, but, as expected, they’re sold out until late April. While my face was buried in the phone, I missed the next tram.

Once on the correct tram I soon saw something worth photographing and hopped off. After 15 minutes, checking Google maps showed 2 options back to the hotel: tram or train. Had yet to take a train in Oz, so I took the longer way home.

Walking from station to hotel I passed a theater. The one hosting the sold out play. An open door had a small sign saying box office open. The stated hours open had started 5 minutes earlier. Walked on, then, in a moment of non-pessimism, turned back and went in.

There was one ticket left for a matinee the next day. She asked my price range. I asked first see the seating chart. Wow. Decided to buy before hearing the price. Why? Sometimes SLADS (Spending Like A Drunken Sailor) seems like the best thing to do.

The view from my seat:

J-20170319_124631-800

Front row in the first balcony.  The show was excellent:

20170319-00758-1280

If I remember correctly, this is the third live musical I’ve seen. First was A Chorus Line by the UC Irvine Drama Department in the early ’80s. Second was Reefer Madness in a 99 seat theater in LA in 1998 or 9.

Leave a Reply

